Students Win Nurse Challenge

Mar 19, 2009

A team of Nursing Students from The University of Scranton won the sixth annual Jeffery Allan Walp Student Nurse Challenge, becoming the third Scranton team to win in six years. The team was awarded a $500 prize, donated by Geisinger Health System, along with a traveling trophy. Twelve area schools participated in the competition that took place recently at East Stroudsburg University. At the competition, students answered questions similar to those they will encounter on the nursing licensure exam. Team members are Justine Zoeller, Sherman, Conn.; Michael DeSarno, Clarks Summit; Kristen Scholz, Olyphant; Caitlin Van Brunt, West Milford, N.J.; Erin Gilfeather, Kingston, N.Y.; and Emily Hahn, Warrington. Patricia Moyle Wright, assistant professor of nursing, serves as team coordinator.

Back to Top