Twelve to Receive O'Hara Award

May 11, 2009

Twelve individuals will be presented with the 2009 Frank O’Hara Award during The University of Scranton’s Alumni Reunion Weekend, which will take place June 12-14 on campus. The O’Hara Award is the highest award bestowed jointly by the university and the Alumni Society for outstanding achievements in a particular field or endeavor. This year’s honorees and the categories for which they will receive their award are:

    • Sharon Bartosh, M.D., Class of 1979, Middleton, Wis., professor and chief of the Division of Pediatric Nephrology, and medical director of the Pediatric Renal Transplant Program at the University of Wisconsin’s American Family Children’s Hospital (Medicine);

    • Arthur E. Clark, Ph.D., Class of 1954, Adelphi, Md., a research physicist who discovered Terfonol (Science & Technology);

    • Francis W. Connolly, Ph.D., Class of 1964, Rockville, Md., professor emeritus of computer science and information, American University (Education); 

    • John J. Cunningham, Esq., Class of 1964, Blue Bell, vice chairman of Cozen     O’Connor (Law);

    • Thomas J. Davis, C.P.A., Class of 1969, Binghamton, N.Y., owner of Kelbritish Realty LLC, and trustee and past-president of the Alumni Society of The University of Scranton (Management);

    • Rev. William L. George, S.J., Graduate Class of 1969, North Bethesda, Md., president of Georgetown Preparatory School (Religion & Spirituality);

    • Kevin J. Lanahan, Class of 1984, Mendham, N.J., managing partner of Headquarters Financial Group and past-president of the Alumni Society of The University of Scranton (University Service);

    • Michele Mauer Carpenter, M.D., Class of 1979, Aliso Viejo, Calif., medical director,     The Breast Program, The Center for Cancer Prevention and Treatment, St. Joseph’s     Hospital, Orange, Calif. (Medicine);

    • Mary M. McCambridge, Class of 1979, Altamonte Springs, Fla., founder and president of the Foundation for Grieving Children  (Community Service);

    • William C. O’Malley, C.P.A., Class of 1959, Amelia Island, Fla., former president, chairman and CEO and current director of Tidewater, Inc. (Management);

    • Brig. General Michael J. Terry, U.S. Army, Class of 1979, Fort Belvoir, Va., commanding general, U.S. Army Security Assistance Command
(Government Service);

    • Andrew M. Wallace, Class of 1974, Chinchilla, Northeast regional executive director and senior management person to Sen. Arlen Specter (Community Service).

The O’Hara Awards ceremony is scheduled for Friday, June 12, at 8 p.m. in the Ann and Leo Moskovitz Theater in the Patrick & Margaret DeNaples Center on campus. For additional information, contact  The University of Scranton’s alumni office at 941-7660.

Back to Top