The University of Scranton Recognizes Outstanding Class of 2010 Graduates


      The University of Scranton honored 64 outstanding members of its undergraduate Class of 2010 at Class Night on May 29. The awards were given for academic excellence and/or service.

      Students with the highest G.P.A. in each of The University of Scranton's three undergraduate colleges and the undergraduate program for adults and part-time students in the university's College of Graduate and Continuing Education were presented the Frank J. O'Hara Awards for General Academic Excellence, a memorial to the late administrator who served the University for 53 years.

      This year's O'Hara Award recipients were: Nicole Marie Zullo in the Panuska College of Professional Studies; Matthew A. Mercuri and Kietryn A. Samuelsen in the College of Arts and Sciences; William Pugh in the Kania School of Management; and Lee D. Ashlin in the College of Graduate and Continuing Education.

      In addition, students from the University's four academic divisions were honored for outstanding academic achievement in their fields of study.

      The recipients of the College of Arts and Sciences academic excellence awards were: James Francescangeli, Stroudsburg, Excellence in Biochemistry; Laura J. Scoda, Piscataway, N.J., the Kathryn and Bernard Hyland Memorial Award for Excellence in Biology; Julia Eichhorn, Reading, Excellence in Chemistry; Amanda M. Reichold, Pottersville, N.J., Excellence in Chemistry - Business; Anthony J. Manderichio, Maplewood, N.J., the Prof. Bernard J. McGurl Award for Excellence in Communication; Timothy M. Donohue, Hicksville, N.J., Excellence in Criminal Justice; Ryan Paul Savage, Scranton, the Dr. A.J. Cawley Award for Excellence in Electrical Engineering; Matthew A. Mercuri, Moscow, the Prof. Joseph B. Cullather Award for Excellence in English and Excellence in Philosophy; Mackenzie J. Lind, Lancaster, the Prof. Joseph G. Brunner Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages and Excellence in Neuroscience; JoAnna Rumbauskas, Milford, Excellence in Forensic Chemistry; Dawn E. Leavy, North Bellmore, N.Y., Excellence in International Language Business; William Pugh, Hillsborough, N.J., the Prof. Frank C. Brown Award for Excellence in History; Douglas A. Jones, West Wyoming, Excellence in International Studies; Christina Marino, Hillsborough, N.J., Excellence in Latin American Studies; Amanda Jones, Scranton, co-recipient Excellence in Mathematics with Katherine M. Osenbach, Kutztown, who also received the Prof. Joseph P. Harper Award for Excellence in Physics; Jennifer A. Dice, Bluepoint, N.Y., Excellence in Media Information Technology; Richard M. Auletta, Lindenhurst, N.Y., The Military Science Leadership Award; Joseph F. Canamucio, Ridley Park, and Gina Fullam, New Paltz, N.Y., co-recipients of the Prof. Timothy H. Scully Award for Excellence in Political Science; David M. Berke, Brooklyn, N.Y., Excellence in Psychology; Kietyrn A. Samuelsen, Dalton, Excellence in Sociology and Excellence in Women's Studies; Caitlin J. Burke, Dunmore, Excellence in Theatre; Jennifer Moakler, Staten Island, N.Y.; Excellence in Theology and Religious Studies; Christopher A. Yarosh, Scranton, the American Chemical Society Award; Danielle L. Chicano, Philadelphia, the J. Harold Brislin Memorial Award for Excellence in Journalism; and Marissa L. Licata, Suffern, N.Y., the Lawrence Lennon Award for Outstanding Service and Achievement in Psychology.

      The recipients of the Kania School of Management academic excellence awards were: Amanda Marcy, Kingston, Excellence in Accounting; Jennifer Barrett, Reading, co-recipient of the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award along with Amanda Akoury, Scranton, who also received the Edward J. Spitzer Scholarship Award; Jeremy Travis, Susquehanna, Excellence in Electronic Commerce; Christopher A. Lucia, Katonah, N.Y., Excellence in Management; Theresa L. Hanntz, Middlesex, N.J., Excellence in Marketing; Caleigh Conahan, Hazleton, Excellence in Operations Management; William Pugh, Hillsborough, N.J., Excellence in Economics; Frederick T. Fuchs, Whitehouse Station, N.J., Excellence in Finance and the Wall Street Journal Award; Marny Blaire Smith, East Amherst, N.Y., Excellence in International Business; and Adanda Jo Shevchuk, Scranton, Excellence in Business Administration.

      The recipients of the Panuska College of Professional Studies academic excellence awards were: Christina Mary Gammaitoni, Scranton, Excellence in Early Childhood/Elementary Education; Marie Christine Russell, Livingston, N.J., Excellence in Early Childhood/Special Education; Nicole Marie Zullo, Perth Amboy, N.J., Excellence in Elementary/Special Education; Ashlee Jean Wruble, Pittston, the Mary E. Quinn Award for Excellence in Secondary Education; Erin E. Green, Bethlehem, Excellence in Community Health Education; Claira Michelle Perfetto, Scranton, Excellence in Counseling & Human Services; Charles T. Sciangula, North Babylon, N.Y., Excellence in Exercise Science and Sport; Alexis Danielle Allen, Harisburg, Excellence in Health Administration; Megan Elizabeth Tadley, Southhampton, Excellence in Human Resource Studies; Chrysa Ann Safko, Scott Township, Excellence in Nursing; Samuel Lawrence Widdowson, Allentown, the Sigma Theta Tau Award for Nursing Excellence; and Annabeth Rose Martino, Vestal, N.Y., Excellence in Occupational Therapy.

      The recipients of academic excellence awards in the undergraduate program for adults and part-time students in the College of Graduate & Continuing Education were: Lee Ashlin, Scranton, Excellence in Liberal Studies; Michael Boyd, Scranton, Excellence in Nursing (LPN to BSN); and Linda Scherer, Dallas, Outstanding Associate Degree. 

      Several prestigious fellowships and special awards were also presented. The Jesuit Community Award for Outstanding Service was given to Stephanie M. Salinis, Philadelphia. Lee Ashlin, Scranton, received the Alumni Loyalty and Service Award for the College of Graduate and Continuing Education and Neil Kalariya, Peckville, received the Alumni Loyalty and Service Award for undergraduates. Danielle Frascella, Stirling, N.J., received the Student Life Award and Erica Joyce, Old Forge, received the Lawrence A. Mann Award. Douglas A. Jones, West Wyoming, received the NSEP Boren Scholarship. Elizabeth A. Pulice, East Greenville, and Marc A. Vallone, Collingswood, N.J., each received the Rev. Bernard R. McIlhenny, S.J., Medal for Exceptional Leadership and Service.

Also recognized were four Fulbright fellowship recipients from Scranton's Class of 2010: Mary Elise Lynch, Philadelphia, who received a Fulbright Scholarship to the Kenya Medical Research Institute in Kisumu, Kenya; Mackenzie Jean Lind, Lancaster, who received a Fulbright Scholarship to the University of Helsinki's Institute of Biomedicine in Helsinki, Finland; Mary Claire Martin, Philadelphia, who received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship to Indonesia; and Janine Maria Gosso, West Patterson, N.J., who received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship to South Korea.

Back to Top