Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Service Locations and Dates 2011

02/04/11

Accounting students from The University of Scranton and volunteers organized through a group of local human service organizations led by the United Way of Lackawanna and Wayne Counties will assist local residents with their tax returns as part of the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program, a free service for clients with low and moderate incomes who need help with their basic tax returns.

On campus: Regular Walk-in Weekday Hours - Advance appointments cannot be scheduled.

The University of Scranton
Brennan Hall, Room 111
For information, call 941-4045.
Feb. 8 – March 16; March 28 – April 1
Monday: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Feb. 14, 21, 28, March 7, 14, 28)
Tuesday: noon to 6 p.m. (Feb. 8, 15, 22, March 1, 8, 15, 29)
Wednesday: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Feb. 9, 16, 23, March 2, 9, 16, 30)
Friday: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. (Feb. 11, 18 and 25)
Friday: 9 a.m. to noon (March 4, March 11 and April 1)
(Note: office will close 3 p.m. on March 16 to 9 a.m. on March 28 for spring break)

Off-campus locations: appointments are required for all off-campus locations.
Call 343-1267, ext. 222.

Carbondale Senior Community Center
66 North Church Street, Carbondale
Saturday, Feb. 12: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 26: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Friday, March 26: 2 to 6 p.m. 
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Greater Carbondale YMCA
82 North Main St., Carbondale
Tuesday, March 8: 3 to 7 p.m.
Friday, March 18: 1 to 5 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Valley Community Library
739 River Street, Peckville
Thursday, Feb. 10: 1 to 5 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 25: noon to 4 p.m.
Thursday, March 3: 1 to 5 p.m.
Friday, March 11: noon to 4 p.m.
Wednesday, March 23: 3 to 7 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Taylor Community Library
710 South Main Street, Taylor
Thursday, Feb. 17: 1 to 5 p.m.
Tuesday, March 1: 1 to 5 p.m.
Thursday, March 10: 1 to 5 p.m.
Thursday, March 31: 1 to 5 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Abington Area Community Library
1200 Grove Street, Clarks Summit
Tuesday, Feb. 15: 1 to 5 p.m.
Tuesday, March 22: 3 to 7 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Abington Volunteer Fire Company
321 Bedford Street, Clarks Summit
Friday, Feb. 11: 1 to 5 p.m.
Thursday, March 17: 1 to 5 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Wayne County Chamber of Commerce
32 Commercial Street, Honesdale
Saturday, Feb. 19: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Salem Public Library
518 Easton Turnpike, Hamlin
Saturday, March 5: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call Jamie Burns at 343-1267, ext. 222

Elmhurst Municipal Building
Municipal Lane, Elmhurst
Tuesday, March 15; 3 to 7 p.m.
Appointment Required. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Special Super Sunday VITA Service
Appointment Required.
The University of Scranton
Brennan Hall
Sunday, Feb. 6: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Appointment Required. 
Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Special Super Saturday VITA Service 
Appointment Required.
The University of Scranton
Brennan Hall
Saturday, April 2: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Appointment Required.
Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Spanish interpreters available upon request. Call 343-1267, ext. 222

Tax Assistance Committee Members are The University of Scranton VITA Program, The United Way of Lackawanna and Wayne Counties, Catholic Social Services of Lackawanna County, United Neighborhood Centers of NEPA, the Voluntary Action Center of NEPA, Marywood University, and the Consumer Credit Counseling of NEPA.

Back to Top