Joint Statement, University of Scranton and Commonwealth Medical College

Feb 20, 2012

Joint Statement from
The University of Scranton
The Commonwealth Medical College


Through an agreement signed on Monday, Feb. 20, 2012, The University of Scranton and The Commonwealth Medical College (TCMC) are continuing discussions regarding a possible affiliation, building on a confidential exploratory phase. The University and TCMC have collaborated in a number of ways since the medical college was founded, including facilities, library resources, faculty and a dual degree program. We note that an affiliation could be beneficial both to our respective institutions and to the constituencies and communities that we serve. During an evaluation period that ends on March 31, 2012, we will engage in a wider discussion within our respective communities to consider the complex questions and issues that surround the possibility of deepening our collaboration into an affiliation.

Kevin P. Quinn, S.J.             Lois Margaret Nora, M.D., J.D.
President            Interim President and Dean
The University of Scranton            The Commonwealth Medical College


About The University of Scranton

Founded in 1888, The University of Scranton is a comprehensive, co-educational Catholic and Jesuit institution located in Pennsylvania’s Pocono Northeast region with an enrollment of slightly more than 6,500 undergraduate and graduate students in four colleges and schools. Known for the outstanding success of its graduates, Scranton has a record of nurturing Fulbright fellows that is unmatched for an institution of its size and scope – 134 since 1972. Nationally recognized for its academic excellence and value, Scranton has been named for 18 consecutive years as one of the top 10 “Best Regional Universities” in the north by U.S. News & World Report, as well as in its list of “Great Schools at a Great Price.” Scranton is also among just 119 colleges in the nation named to the Carnegie Classification for Community Engagement in 2008.


About The Commonwealth Medical College

The Commonwealth Medical College (TCMC) is one of the nation’s newest medical colleges located in northeast Pennsylvania. TCMC offers a community-based model of medical education with three regional campuses - north (Scranton), south (Wilkes-Barre) and west (Williamsport). TCMC offers a Medical Degree (MD) program, Master of Biomedical Sciences (MBS) degree, and Professional Science of Masters (PSM) degree. TCMC was awarded degree granting authority by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 2008, received preliminary LCME (Liaison Committee on Medical Education) accreditation in 2008 and accepted its first class of medical and master's students in 2009. The College attracts students from within its 16-county region as well as across Pennsylvania and the nation who are interested in studying evidence- and community-based medicine and who have a strong desire to serve their community. In 2011, TCMC opened the 185,000 square foot Medical Sciences Building that houses the academic and research programs.

Back to Top