Award Recognizes University Students and Their High School Teachers

Feb 10, 2015

Students at The University of Scranton and their high school teachers, who they credit for contributing to their success, were recognized at the Rose Kelly Awards ceremony held recently on campus.

The Rose Kelly Award was established by a University of Scranton alumnus, Joseph Wineburgh, Ph.D., to link the efforts of educators to the achievements of college students. The award is presented jointly to a student in each of the University’s colleges who has completed two years at Scranton and to the teacher whom he or she recognizes as having a great impact on his or her life. Students are selected based on exemplary achievement in both academics and general campus involvement.

From left are Rose Kelly Award recipients Tim O’Hearn from Scranton High School and the University student who nominated him, John C. Clark of Scranton; and Murli Rajan, Ph.D., interim associate dean of the Kania School of Management.

From left are Debra Pellegrino, Ed.D., dean of the Panuska College of Professional Studies; Mary Lyons of Higganum, Connecticut, who received the University’s Rose Kelly Award along with her father Peter Lyons, who was also her teacher at Our Lady of Lourdes High School.

From left are Rose Kelly Award recipient Juliana Vossenberg of Fredericksburg, Virginia, and Brian Conniff, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at The University of Scranton. The teacher she nominated, Elise Italiano, from Georgetown Visitation Prep School, was absent from the photo.

Back to Top