Students Inducted into National Jesuit Honor Society

May 19, 2015

Forty-five University of Scranton students were inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu, the national honor society for students in Jesuit colleges and universities, at a ceremony held recently on campus. This year marks the 100th anniversary of the honor society. The Scranton chapter of Alpha Sigma Nu was founded in 1943 and is the oldest honor society at the University. Juniors, seniors and graduate students who have distinguished themselves in scholarship, loyalty and service are eligible for membership.

Also at the ceremony, several members of the University community and guests were given honorary inductions into the honor society. Honorary inductees from The University of Scranton were: Donald Boomgaarden, Ph.D. (ex-officio), senior vice president for academic affairs and provost; Ryan Maher, S.J. (ex-officio), executive director of The Jesuit Center; Lt. Col. Joseph Wetherell, associate director of admissions; Cheryl Collarini, career relations manager; Rev. John Sivalon, Ph.D., visiting associate professor of theology/religious studies; and University alumna Pamela Taffera, D.O., class of 2002. Sister Ruth Neely, R.S.M., was also an honorary inductee and served as the keynote speaker at the ceremony. Sister Ruth is a nurse practitioner at the Wright Center for Primary Care. She ministers to persons affected with HIV/AIDS.

In addition, John J. O'Malley, Ph.D., professor emeritis of psychology at the University, was presented with the Edward Gannon, S.J. Teacher of the Year Award.

The following University students were inducted into Alpha Sigma Nu:

Safia Abulaila

Michael Ambrose

Margaret Bannon

Sean Bassler

John Clark

James Dalkiewicz

Laura Fay

Nina Fischer

April Francia

Danielle Frank

Norman Frederick

Peter Frein

Stephen Gadomski

Bridget Gallagher

Maria Genello

Victoria Giamella

Philip Gilmartin

Alison Gohn

Reshma Gore

Anthony Gulotta

Thomas Holtman

Emily Holzman

Christa Howarth

Megan Hudock

Timothy Janes

Elizabeth Joyce

Cassidy Kemp

Karl Kretsch

Allison Lai

Tricia Leavy

Claire Leisner

Stephen Long

Audrey Marinelli

Megan McCarthy

Kaitlyn Meier

Meredith Mesaris

Taylor Nelson

Melissa Olsakowski

Christine Panzitta

Kishan Patel

Devin Sullivan-Phillips

Michelle Sulzinski

Catherine Thurston

Alex Wasalinko

Rachel Weir

Back to Top