Expert on the Economics of the Internet to Speak at The University of Scranton

Oct 28, 2015

Susan Athey, Ph.D., the Economics of Technology Professor at the Stanford Graduate School of Business, will discuss “The Internet and the News Media” at The University of Scranton’s Henry George Lecture on Wednesday, Nov. 4, at 7:30 p.m. The lecture, which is free and open to the public, will take place in the McIlhenny Ballroom of the DeNaples Center on campus.

Dr. Athey teaches about the economics of the Internet and digital markets, platform markets, and Internet search. Her current research focuses on the economics of the Internet, marketplace design, auction theory, the statistical analysis of auction data, and the intersection of econometrics and machine learning.

An advisor to governments and businesses on the design of auction-based marketplaces, Dr. Athey has served as a consultant for Microsoft Corporation since 2007, including a period as chief economist.

In 2007, Dr. Athey received the John Bates Clark Medal, awarded by the American Economic Association to “that American economist under the age of 40who is adjudged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.” She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2012 and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2008.

Dr. Athey received continuous funding from the National Science Foundation from 1995 to 2008, including a prestigious Career Development award. She was elected as a fellow of the Econometric Society in 2004 and is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. The recipient of the Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship for 2000-2002, she was a fellow at the Center for Advanced Studies in Behavioral Science at Stanford in 2004-2005 and a National Fellow at the Hoover Institution in 2000-2001. In 2000, she received the Elaine Bennett research award, given to an outstanding young woman in any field of economics.

Dr. Athey is a member of the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science, as well as the Honors and Awards Committee of the American Economics Association. She served as an elected member of the executive committee of the American Economic Association, the Council of the Econometric Society and the Council of the Game Theory Society.

A co-editor and associate editor of several American economic journals, Dr. Athey has written several articles and book chapters. She also has served on numerous committees and has presented at numerous conferences for a variety of economic organizations.

The Henry George Lecture Series is organized by the Economics and Finance Department at The University of Scranton and the campus chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, an international honor society for economics. The series is funded by a grant from the Robert Schalkenbach Foundation, which was established in 1925 to propagate the ideas of the 19th century economist and social reformer Henry George as set forth in his book “Progress and Poverty” and other works.

The Henry George Lecture Series is the preeminent public lecture series in economics in Northeastern Pennsylvania. The list of distinguished speakers at previous lectures includes 10 winners of the Nobel Prize in Economics: Angus Deaton (2015) (spring Henry George lecture), Robert Shiller (2013), Tom Sargent (2011), Peter Diamond (2010), Paul Krugman (2008), Joseph Stiglitz (2001), George Akerlof (2001), Amartya Sen (1998), Robert Lucas (1995) and Robert Solow (1987).

For additional information about the Henry George Lecture, contact The University of Scranton, Department of Economics and Finance at 570-941-4048 or


Back to Top