Scranton Brass Orchestra to Perform June 17

    Trumpeter Carl Achhammer and tubaists Ryan Lamoreux and Steve Lakawicz rehearse for the June 17th Scranton Brass Orchestra concert, which begins at 7:30 p.m. at the University’s Houlihan-McLean Center.
    June 11, 2018

    The Scranton Brass Orchestra will perform on Sunday, June 17, at 7:30 p.m. in the Houlihan-McLean Center at The University of Scranton. Admission is free, and the performance is open to the public. (Doors open at 6:45 p.m. and seating is on a first-come, first-seated basis.)

    The program for the concert includes arrangements for brass of a variety of American music, including Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue and music from American in Paris, Bernstein’s Candide Overture, a medley of music popularized by Disney films, and selections from “The Great American Songbook” including You’ll Never Walk Alone, A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square, and Here’s That Rainy Day. The concert will also feature the American premiere of Thomas Gansch’s Ljubliana Fanfare.

    The Scranton Brass Orchestra is under the direction of co-founder and director Cheryl Y. Boga and is presented by Performance Music at The University of Scranton. Now beginning its seventh season, the fully professional 28-member ensemble is comprised of brass and percussion players/teachers from the region. The group’s performances are free of charge and open to the public, and sometimes feature nationally and internationally acclaimed guests, including many of the most respected brass players of our time. The group made its debut before hundreds of appreciative audience members in June 2011, and has since garnered acclaim from both audiences and musicians alike.

    Scranton Brass Orchestra members for this concert and the  instrument they play are as follows: Eb Trumpet/Cornet and Piccolo Trumpet: Jon Shadle; Bb Trumpet/Cornet: Carl Achhammer, John Carey, Joe Devizia, Ken Luckey, Sean Mason, Jamie Orfanella, Miles Orfanella, Morganne Piestrak, Jonathan Searfoss, Matthew Wren; Flugelhorn: Jeff Leas; Horns: Justin Ambrozia, Rena Hummel, Kristen Yarmey; Trombones: Malcolm Viney, Chuck Smith; Bass Trombone: Don Williams; Baritone/Euphonium: Ryan Berry, Conor Flynn, Wayne Smith, Chris Wilski; Tuba: Steve Lakawicz, Ryan Lamoreux, James Vasky; Percussion: Janelle Decker, Adam Gresko, Frank Torquato.

    For additional information, visit or email

    Back to Top