Scranton Celebrates its Maguire Scholars

    The University of Scranton celebrated its 16 current Maguire Scholars at a gathering on campus recently. Attending the event are, first row, from left, Maguire scholars Zachary Thomas, Sonni Mazzone, Cianna Kisailus, Catherine Stapf, Jakob Hodlofski and Sothea MacBain. Second row: Maguire scholars Stas Postowski, Kimberly Baxter, Brian Price, Brayden Hood, Patrick Joyce and Andrew Wisniewski. Absent from the photo are Maguire scholars Christiana Cruz-Council, Daniel McNulty, Madison Nord and Alex Vallejo.
    January 8, 2019

    The University of Scranton celebrated its 16 current Maguire Scholars at a gathering on campus recently.

    Maguire scholarships are funded by The Maguire Foundation, founded by philanthropists James J. and Frances Maguire. The scholarship program provides graduates selected from 41 Philadelphia-area high schools (many of which are Catholic schools) with “last-dollar” financial support for four years of college at one of 28 partner institutions. Scranton has been a partner school since 2015.

    Maguire Scholars, selected by their respective institutions, must maintain a G.P.A. above 3.0, be an active participant in school and/or community volunteer extra-curricular activities, and meet other requirements of the program.

    The following students are current Maguire Scholars at Scranton (listed alphabetically by academic year):

    Christiana Cruz-Council, Philadelphia, a senior communication major;

    Daniel McNulty, Havertown, a senior marketing major;

    Brian Price, Glenside, a senior accounting major;

    Catherine Stapf, Warrington, a senior neuroscience major;

    Kimberly Baxter, Philadelphia, a junior political science major;

    Sonni Rose Mazzone, Philadelphia, a junior counseling and human services major;

    Stas Postowski, Philadelphia, a junior marketing major;

    Zachary Thomas, Philadelphia, a junior journalism - electronic media major;

    Braden Francis Hood, Abington, a sophomore physics major;

    Cianna Noelle Kisailus, Wyndmoor, a sophomore nursing major;

    Sothea Nari Grace MacBain, Philadelphia, a sophomore health administration major;

    Alex Sebastian Vallejo, Upper Darby, a sophomore criminal justice major;

    Patrick Joyce, Glenside, a freshman undeclared major in the College of Arts and Sciences;

    Jakob Hodlofski, West Chester, a freshman business administration major;

    Madison Nord, Bryn Mawr, a freshman finance major;

    Andrew Wisniewski, Southampton, a freshman nursing major.

    Back to Top