Outstanding Graduates Recognized at Class Night

    Fifty-eight members of The University of Scranton’s undergraduate class of 2020 were recognized for academic excellence, service or both at a virtual Class Night ceremony on May 29.
    May 29, 2020

    The University of Scranton honored 58 members of its undergraduate class of 2020 for academic excellence, service or both. The awards were presented at a virtual Class Night program on May 29.

    Students with the highest GPA in each of the University’s three undergraduate colleges were presented Frank J. O’Hara Awards for General Academic Excellence, a memorial to the late administrator who served the University for 53 years.

    This year’s O’Hara Award recipients were: Anna Maria Gerarda Giblin, Berwyn, and Charles Kulick, Pittston, for the College of Arts and Sciences; Ryan J. Haley, Olean, New York, Tarquin Lenahan McGurrin, Clarks Summit, and Abbey A. Murphy, Mountain Top, for the Kania School of Management; and Amanda Therese Horner, Buffalo, New York, for the Panuska College of Professional Studies.

    In addition, students were honored for outstanding academic achievement in their fields of study and leadership and service.

    The students honored, and the awards received are as follows:

    Nicole Isabella Antonelli, Washington, New Jersey, Excellence in Physiology;

    Tyler L. Atcavage, Forest City, Excellence in Forensic Chemistry;

    Jack Charles Aversa III, Gouldsboro, Kathryn and Bernard Hyland Memorial Award for Excellence in Biology;

    Patrick J. Barney, Peckville, Excellence in Exercise Science and Sport;

    Garrett M. Boyd, Sugarloaf, Excellence in Criminal Justice;

    Nadine Marie Brosnan, Goshen, New York, Excellence in Early and Primary Education;

    Sarah M. Brown, Dunmore, Jesuit Community Award for Community Service;

    Patrick J. Budicini, Ridgefield, Connecticut, Excellence in Finance;

    Erin A. Carlin, Scranton, Excellence in Environmental Science;

    Reilly A. Charles, Rockaway Park, New York, Excellence in Theatre;

    Grace E. Cieri, Collegeville, Excellence in Chemistry;

    Julia M. DalCeredo, Yorktown Heights, New York, Prof. Bernard J. McGurl Award for Excellence in Communication;

    Michael Joseph Delevan, Kingston, Excellence in Computer Science;

    Danielle R. Desseyn, Mechanicsburg, Prof. Joseph G. Brunner Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages;

    Michael P. Diana, Somerset, New Jersey, Lawrence Lennon Award for Outstanding Service and Achievement in Psychology;

    Amanda C. Fatovic, Oradell, New Jersey, Excellence in International Business;

    Anna Maria Gerarda Giblin, Berwyn, Prof. Frank C. Brown Award for Excellence in History;

    Zoe Rose Haggerty, South Abington Township, Lawrence A. Mann Award;

    Ryan J. Haley, Olean, New York, Excellence in Business Administration and Military Science Leadership;

    Courtney Jade Hayashi, Lake Elmo, Minnesota, Excellence in Occupational Therapy;

    Amanda Therese Horner, Buffalo, New York, Excellence in Community Health Education;

    Grace Ann Hudock, Bethlehem, Excellence in Women’s Studies;

    Catherine Gabriella Johnson, Scranton, Prof. Joseph B. Cullather Award for Excellence in English (ex-aequo);

    Amy P. Kaiser, Downingtown, Sigma Theta Tau, International Honor Society of Nursing;

    Cooper Carlson Knipmeyer, Southampton, Excellence in Entrepreneurship;

    Nathan Koziol, Farmington, Connecticut, Excellence in Marketing;

    Charles Kulick, Pittston, Excellence in Mathematics;

    Kevin Michael Latz, Ramsey, New Jersey, Excellence in Human Resources;

    Marissa Faithe Lembo, Plainview, New York, Excellence in Health Administration;

    Emma M. Long, Honesdale, Excellence in Psychology;

    Brian Anthony Martin, Scranton, Lawrence A. Mann Award;

    Claire Margaret McAllister, Plymouth Meeting, Mary E. Quinn Award for Excellence in Secondary Education;

    Bridget Ann McGuire, Towson, Maryland, Excellence in International Studies;

    Tarquin Lenahan McGurrin, Clarks Summit, PA Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA);

    Julia Anne McKinney, Perkasie, Excellence in Neuroscience;

    Eileen McNulty, Cape May Court House, New Jersey, Dr. A.J. Cawley Award for Excellence in Electrical Engineering;

    Germaine Laira Mendonca, Middletown, New Jersey, Excellence in Theology and Religious Studies;

    Abbey A. Murphy, Mountain Top, Excellence in Accounting and Excellence in Philosophy;

    Liam Michael O'Hare, Branchburg, New Jersey, Excellence in Information Technology;

    Stefan Henry Olsen, Luzerne, The J.J. Quinn, S.J., Achievement Award for Demonstration of Excellence in English Studies, Excellence in Biochemistry and Excellence in Biomathematics and American Chemical Society Award;

    Victoria Maria Pardi, Clifton Park, New York, Excellence in Chemistry-Business;

    Andrew B. Patterson, Hillsborough, New Jersey, Student Life Award;

    John James Peccerillo, Derby, Connecticut, Excellence in Electronic Commerce;

    Nicholas Pepen, Orefield, Prof. Timothy H. Scully Award for Excellence in Political Science;

    Meghan Elizabeth Pratt, Dudley, Massachusetts, Excellence in Counseling and Human Services;

    Jamie Lynn Rizzotti, Yardley, Excellence in Health Advocacy;

    Daniela Salcedo, Bronx, New York, Excellence in Management;

    Minahil Sami, Jessup, Excellence in Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology (BCMB);

    Artem Barysavich Samiahulin, Cheshire, Connecticut, Excellence in Economics;

    Meagan Riley Scheider, Parlin, New Jersey, Excellence in Applied Mathematics;

    Anthony Spoto, Lake Ariel, Excellence in Business Analytics;

    Brianna E. Stein, Basking Ridge, New Jersey, Excellence in Operations Management;

    Deniya H. Thompson, Brooklyn, New York, Student Life Award;

    Johanna Torre, Lynbrook, New York, Academic Excellence in Nursing;

    Joshua Matthew Toth, Jefferson Township, Prof. Joseph P. Harper Award for Excellence in Physics;

    Brianna Marie Tucciarone, Warren, New Jersey, Alumni Award;

    Emily Rose Turano, Clifton, New Jersey, Edward J. Spitzer Scholarship Award;

    Alexis I. Ward, Wysox, Prof. Joseph B. Cullather Award for Excellence in English (ex-aequo).

    Back to Top