Student Political Science Club Starts at Scranton

    The University of Scranton’s new Political Science club includes members that are republican, democrat and independent. The club meets virtually every two weeks.
    October 20, 2020

    Members of The University of Scranton’s new Political Science Club span the political spectrum.

    “We have members that are republican, democrat and independent, which makes for good conversation,” said club president Ryan Hammer, a sophomore accounting major from Wayne, New Jersey. The club’s members also represent a number of majors, including political science, accounting, criminal justice and biology, to name a few.

    The club meets via Zoom every two weeks. At the meetings, members have discussed the Presidential and Vice-Presidential debates and how the coronavirus has affected politics.

    “I believe this club serves members with a safe space where students can be accepted and respected to share their political beliefs. With everything going on in the world and all the hatred between political parties, I am happy we can provide a place where students can feel comfortable discussing their views on sensitive topics,” said Hammer. “The Political Science Club also provides students with a place to become more educated on different political views and with the problems going on in the world today.”

    Future meetings will include guest speakers and other activities, such as mock debates.

    In addition to Ryan Hammer, who serves as president, other student officers of the Political Science Club are: Sean Hammer, vice president a sophomore biology major from Wayne, New Jersey; Amanda Wolfson, secretary, a sophomore criminal justice major from Wayne, New Jersey; and Michael Abromovage, marketing chair, a sophomore biochemistry major from Wyoming. Michael Allison, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Political Science Department, serves as the club’s moderator.

    University students are welcome to the Political Science Club. For more information, contact the student officers or the club moderator.

    Back to Top