Outstanding Graduates Recognized at Class Night Impact Banner

    Outstanding Graduates Recognized at Class Night

    Sixty-three members of The University of Scranton’s undergraduate class of 2021 were recognized for academic excellence, service or both at a virtual Class Night ceremony on May 21.
    July 2, 2021

    The University of Scranton honored 63 members of its undergraduate class of 2021 for academic excellence, service or both at a virtual Class Night ceremonyon May 21.

    Students with the highest GPA in each of the University’s three undergraduate colleges were presented Frank J. O’Hara Awards for General Academic Excellence, a memorial to the late administrator who served the University for 53 years.

    This year’s O’Hara Award recipients were: Gabriel J. Ragusa, New Hyde Park, New York, for the College of Arts and Sciences; Kyle S. Shaffer, Mahwah, New Jersey, and Nicole C. Cavanaugh, Dallas, for the Kania School of Management; and Kate E. Wisner, Hanover, for the Panuska College of Professional Studies.

    In addition, students were honored for outstanding academic achievement in their fields of study and leadership and service.

    The students honoredand the awards received are as follows:

    Devin J. Adams, White House Station, New Jersey, Excellence in Applied Mathematics Award;

    Ann E. Amentler, Drums, Excellence in Finance Award;

    Julia Victoria Joan Betti, Dickson City, Excellence in Marketing Award and the Edward J. Spitzer Scholarship Award;

    Carly S. Bock, Cedar Grove, New Jersey, Excellence in Psychology Award;

    Lauren E. Buscarino, Centereach, New York, Excellence in Community Health Education Award;

    Mya M. Buschman, Nottingham, Maryland, the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing Award;

    Nicole C. Cavanaugh, Dallas, Excellence in Accounting Award;

    Kathleen A. Coar, Dunmore, Excellence in Criminal Justice Awardand The Military Science Leadership Award;

    Jeffrey M. Colucci, Mahwah, New Jersey, the Student Life Award ex aequo;

    Danielle M. Cook, Kingston, the Lawrence Lennon Award for Outstanding Service and Achievement in Psychology;

    Abigail R. Corrigan, Carbondale, the Alumni Loyalty and Service Award;

    Sarah E. Coulson, Branchburg, New Jersey, Excellence in Exercise Science Award;

    Ryne E. Culley, Rockville, Maryland, Excellence in Environmental Science Award;

    Michael J. Curran, Clarks Green, Excellence in Management Award;

    Daniel J. Damico, Wyckoff, New Jersey, the Mary E. Quinn Award for Excellence in Secondary Education;

    Matthew M. DeBenedetto, Westfield, New Jersey, Excellence in Operations Management Award;

    Tyler DeGeorge, Otisville, New York, Excellence in Business Analytics Award;

    Kristen M. Denniston, Hawley, the Lawrence A. Mann Award ex aequo;

    Brooke K. Devers, New Tripoli, Excellence in Health Administration Award;

    Crisel R. Divinagracia, West Nyack, New York, the Lawrence A. Mann Award ex aequo;

    Carly F. Dugan, Westwood, New Jersey, Excellence in Counseling and Human Services Award;

    Evan M. Esposito, Pittston, Excellence in Computer Science Award;

    Corinne E. Estes, Ivyland, Excellence in Early and Primary Education Award;

    Rachael E. Gallagher, Havertown, Excellence in Occupational Therapy Award;

    Jithin V. George, Newtown, Excellence in Neuroscience Award ex aequo;

    Giovanni Gunawan, Scranton, Excellence in Neuroscience Award ex aequo;

    Julia L. Hack, Lake Katrine, New York, the Prof. Timothy H. Scully Award for Excellence in Political Science;

    Isaiah J. Harris, Scranton, The J.J. Quinn, S.J., Achievement Award for Demonstration of Excellence in English Studies;

    Angela M. Hendricks, Newtown, Excellence in Middle Level Education Award;

    Christine Jiang, Philadelphia, Excellence in Business Administration Award;

    Tatiana S. Klacko, Scranton, Excellence in Human Resource Studies Award;

    Sarah A. Lajeunesse, Havertown, Excellence in Mathematics Award (B.A.);

    Bailey C. McLaughlin, Allentown, New Jersey, the Jesuit Community Award for Outstanding Service;

    Matthew S. Mills, Sewell, New Jersey, Excellence in Information Technology Award;

    Maria K. Montauredes, Mexico Beach, Florida,Excellence in Chemistry-Business Award;

    Jacob F. Myers, Blue Bell, Excellence in Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology Award;

    Victoria K. Norman, Pittsburgh, the Professor Joseph P. Harper Award for Excellence in Physics;

    Megan R. Osborne, Mifflinville, Excellence in Mathematics Award (B.S.);

    Sara C. Pellegrino, Stroudsburg, Excellence in Sociology Award;

    Mary T. Petrucci, Ambler, Dr. A.J. Cawley Award for Excellence in Electrical Engineering ex aequo;

    Mary R. Purcell, Ocean City, New Jersey, theProf. Joseph B. Cullather Award for Excellence in English ex aequo;

    Gabriel John Ragusa, New Hyde Park, New York,Excellence in Biology Award;

    Dagny C. Rippon, South Abington Township, Excellence in International Business Award;

    Alexa D. Romberger, Valley View, Excellence in Biochemistry Award;

    Aubrey N. Savage, Scranton, the Dr. A.J. Cawley Award for Excellence in Electrical Engineering ex aequo;

    Ryan C. Schultze, Harrisburg, the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award;

    Jake D. Selingo, Shavertown, Excellence in Chemistry Award;

    Hollyann Serp, Commack, New York, Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award;

    Alana B. Siock, Jefferson Township, Excellence in International Studies Award;

    Ann Marie Siock, Jefferson Township, the Professor Bernard J. McGurl Award for Excellence in Communication;

    Ashley C. Spencer, Tunkhannock, Excellence in Biomathematics Award;

    Emily A. Swenarton, Tinton Falls, New Jersey, Excellence in Health Advocacy Award;

    Erin H. Toburen, Harleysville, Academic Excellence in Nursing Award;

    Amanda B. Tolvaisa, Springfield, the Prof. Joseph B. Cullather Award for Excellence in English ex aequo;

    Gabrielle M. Verbeke-O’Boyle, Mountain Top, Excellence in Physiology Award;

    Tyler B. Wakalowski, Harford, Excellence in Economics Award (Kania School of Management);

    Ashley L. Walker, Drexel Hill, the Student Life Award ex aequo;

    Casey E. Welby, Scranton, the Prof. Joseph G. Brunner Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages (Classical) and the Prof. Frank C. Brown Award for Excellence in History;

    Kelsey E. Wynn, South Abington Township, the J. Harold Brislin Memorial Award for Excellence in Journalism;

    Brianna L. Zettlemoyer, Reading, the Excellence in Forensic Chemistry Award;

    Madison Ziobro, Scott Township, the Prof. Joseph G. Brunner Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages (Modern).

    Back to Top