Scranton Native To Receive Distinguished Author Award

Sep 13, 2012

The University of Scranton’s Friends of the Weinberg Memorial Library will honor award winning poet, biographer, fiction writer and educator Jay Parini, Ph.D., with the 2012 Royden B. Davis, S.J., Distinguished Author Award on Saturday, Sept. 29. The reception begins at 5 p.m. with dinner and the award ceremony following at 6:30 p.m. in the McIlhenny Ballroom of the DeNaples Center. The President of the American Library Association Maureen Sullivan will also speak at the ceremony, which is one of a series of events planned throughout 2012 in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the Weinberg Memorial Library. Planning the event, which supports the Friends of the Library Endowment Fund are, seated from left; Sondra Myers, director of the Schemel Forum at The University of Scranton; Friends of the Library Midori Yamanouchi and Annette Kalwaytis; Betsey Moylan, event co-chair; Ann Moskovitz, president, Friends of the Library; and Geri Botyrius, academic advisor. Standing, from left, are Charles Kratz, dean of the Library and information fluency at The University of Scranton; John Cacciamani, Friends of the Library; Carl Schaffer, professor of English at The University of Scranton; Sherman Wooden, Friends of the Library; Kym Fetsko, assistant to the dean; Violet Kelly, Friends of the Library; Narda Tafuri, associate librarian; and Frank Homer, Ph.D., professor emeritus of history at The University of Scranton.
Distinguished Author 

Back to Top