Students Receive Rose Kelly Awards at The University of Scranton

Jan 9, 2017

The University of Scranton recognized students and their high school teachers, who they credit for contributing to their success, with Rose Kelly Awards at a ceremony held recently on campus.

The Rose Kelly Award was established by University of Scranton alumnus Joseph Wineburgh, Ph.D., to link the efforts of educators to the achievements of college students. The award is presented jointly to a student in each of the University’s colleges who has completed two years at Scranton and to the teacher whom he or she recognizes as having a great impact in his or her life. Students are selected based on exemplary achievement in both academics and general campus involvement.

Jennifer Riccardi, Little Ferry, New Jersey, received the Rose Kelly Award for the Panuska College of Professional Studies. Riccardi nominated her teacher, Patrick Bouchard, from Ridgefield Park Junior Senior High School, Ridgefield Park, New Jersey. From left: Debra Pellegrino, Ed.D., dean of the Panuska College of Professional Studies, Riccardi and Bouchard.

Jessica Signore, Bronx, New York, received the Rose Kelly Award for the Kania School of Management. Signore nominated her high school athletic director, Jamie Skrapits, from Preston High School, Bronx, New York. From left: Murli Rajan, Ph.D., associate dean of the Kania School of Management, Signore and Skrapits.

Shannon Herrmann, Hopewell Junction, New York, received the Rose Kelly Award for the College of Arts and Sciences. Herrmann nominated her high school Spanish teacher, Señora Nancy Beiner, from John Jay High School, Hopewell Junction, New York. From left: Herrmann and Brian Conniff, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Señora Beiner was absent from the photo.

Back to Top