University of Scranton to Honor Prominent Alumni Leaders

Apr 19, 2017

On Saturday, April 29, The University of Scranton’s Kania School of Management will conduct its second Business Leader Hall of Fame Dinner. The dinner will honor four Scranton alumni who became prominent business leaders: Susan Swain, co-chief executive officer and president of C-SPAN; educator Katherine Reilly, Theodore “Ted” Jadick, vice chairman of Heidrick and Struggles and former publisher of the Scranton Times-Tribune George Lynett, Esq.

The Business Leader Hall of Fame events will begin at 4 p.m. with a panel session with honorees and a student audience, followed immediately by a meet and greet with students. Both events will take place in the Pearn Auditorium of Brennan Hall. A 6 p.m. cocktail reception will precede the dinner and award ceremony for invited guests, scheduled to begin at 7 p.m., both on the fifth floor of Brennan Hall.

2017 Business Leader Hall of Fame Inductees

Susan Swain

Susan Swain, University of Scranton’s class of 1976

At C-SPAN, the nation’s eighth-largest cable television network, Swain oversees programming for their three television channels, and C-SPAN Radio.

The Philadelphia native and northern Virginia resident helped launch BookTV and American History TV, 48-hour weekend blocks showcasing non-fiction books and history and the network’s traveling “Local Content Vehicles.” She has also been an on-air interviewer for more than 30 years, during which she covered eight presidential elections and interviewed hundreds of members of Congress, policy experts, journalists, Supreme Court justices, and a few presidents and first ladies.

Swain is the author of three books: “First Ladies: Presidential Historians on the Lives of 45 Iconic American Women,” “The Supreme Court: A C-SPAN Book, Featuring the Justices in their Own Words,” and “Abraham Lincoln: Great American Historians on Our Sixteenth President.”

Swain also serves as a director of Discovery Communications Inc., a global non-fiction content distributor, and spent 11 years as a director of Talbots Inc. She has served on numerous nonprofit boards, including as a current board member and former chair of the National Press Foundation. A longtime member of the National Press Club, Swain was a founding board member of the Cable Television Public Affairs Association. She is a two-time winner of the Vanguard Award, the cable industry’s highest professional recognition, and has been recognized by her industry as a Cable TV Pioneer.

Swain, one of the first women to enroll at the University when it became co-educational in 1972, served for six years as a University Trustee and was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University.

Katherine Reilly

Katherine Reilly, University of Scranton’s class of 1953

Reilly graduated from the University’s Dexter Hanley College with a degree in marketing. She and her sister, Evelyn, were the first two women to enroll in the University’s business school in 1945. Reilly continued her education at what was then Marywood College, earning a master’s degree in education, and taught for the Scranton School District until her retirement. She and her sister helped to established the Alumnae Society at Scranton and served as officers for many years.

The Reilly Learning Center Commons, a renovated space at the University’s Weinberg Memorial Library, was named in honor of Reilly and her siblings, Joe and Evelyn Reilly ’52, who have expressed a deep commitment of service to the University for more than 50 years.

Reilly and her brother Joe established a scholarship in 2002, the year that Evelyn passed away.

Theodore “Ted” Jadick

Theodore “Ted” Jadick University of Scranton’s class of 1961

Jadick joined Heidrick and Struggles in 1975 as a consultant in the New York office, becoming a partner in 1977 and vice chairman and member of the Office of the Chairman in 2002. He also has served as a member of the executive committee and managing partner of the New York office. In 1997, he earned the John E. Struggles Partnership Award, Heidrick and Struggles’ most prestigious honor, in recognition for consistently demonstrating the highest ethical, partnership, firm building and mentoring behaviors.

Before joining Heidrick & Struggles, Jadick was a senior vice president at Frank W. Hastings Associates and a staff accountant and auditor for Haskins & Sells. He began his career at Arthur Young & Company, after earning his B.S. in accounting.

Jadick has conducted senior-level searches for major organizations and has been nominated by clients as one of the top executive recruiters in America in all three editions of John Sibbald’s “Career Makers.” He is listed among the top 200 executive recruiters in the world in The Global 200 Executive Recruiters by Nancy Garrison Jenn.

Active in community affairs, he recently served on the board of the Calvary Hospital Foundation in the Bronx and as a University Trustee. He is a member of the President’s Business Council.

George Lynett, Esq.

George Lynett, J.D., University of Scranton’s graduate class of 1971

Lynett is a graduate of Scranton Preparatory School and College of the Holy Cross. He earned his MBA from the University in 1971 and graduated from the Georgetown University Law Center in 1978. He served on active duty in the United States Navy and was honorably discharged as a lieutenant in 1971.

Lynett is the former publisher of the Scranton Times-Tribune, and along with his brothers, Ed and Bill, served as CEO of Times-Shamrock Communications. During their 42-year tenure, the family company grew from one daily newspaper and one AM radio station in Scranton to daily newspapers serving eight markets, AM and FM radio stations in five markets and alternatives newsweeklies in multiple markets. In 2012, Lynett and other members of the Lynett-Haggerty family were presented with the University’s President’s Medal at the President’s Business Council’s 11th Annual Award Dinner at The Pierre in New York City. The Lynetts and Haggertys were the first family selected to receive the award at the annual gala.

A former University of Scranton trustee, Lynett has served as chairman of the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce, Scranton Preparatory School, Pennsylvania Newspaper Association, Allied Services, Marywood University and Scranton Area Foundation. He served as co-chair of the United Way drives in 1972 and 2009, was a member of the Board of Corestates Bank in Philadelphia and The Union Leader (Manchester, New Hampshire). He is a past president of The Friendly Sons of St. Patrick of Lackawanna County.

For more information about the second Business Leader Hall of Fame Dinner, call 570-941-4208.

Back to Top