Scranton Brass Orchestra To Perform Sunday, June 18

Jun 9, 2017

The Scranton Brass Orchestra will perform on Sunday, June 18, at 7:30 p.m. in the Houlihan-McLean Center at The University of Scranton. Admission is free, and the performance is open to the public. (Doors open at 6:45 p.m., and seating is on a first-come, first-seated basis.)

The program for the concert includes arrangements for brass of Verdi’s Overture to “Nabucco”, Copland’s Fanfare For The Common Man, Holst’s Jupiter (from “The Planets”), Elgar’s Nimrod (from “Enigma Variations”) and other selections, including settings of When I Fall In Love and Bohemian Rhapsody.

The Scranton Brass Orchestra is under the direction of co-founder and director Cheryl Y. Boga and is presented by Performance Music at The University of Scranton. Now beginning its sixth season, it is a fully-professional, ensemble comprised of brass and percussion players/teachers from the region. The group’s performances are free of charge and open to the public, and sometimes feature nationally and internationally acclaimed guests, including many of the most respected brass players of our time. The group made its debut before hundreds of appreciative audience members in June 2011, and has since garnered acclaim from both audiences and musicians alike.

Scranton Brass Orchestra members for this concert, the instrument they play, and their towns are as follows: Eb Trumpet/Cornet & Piccolo Trumpet: Joseph Boga (New York City/Chinchilla);  Bb Trumpet/Cornet: Carl Achhammer (Sugar Notch), Laura Bibbs (Hawley), John Carey (Wilkes-Barre), Joe Devizia (Larksville), Ken Luckey (Albrightsville), Sean Mason (Tunkhannock), Christopher Newman M.D. (Breinigsville), William Rennekamp (Lake Ariel), Jonathan Searfoss (Jefferson Township), Matthew Wren (Scranton) and Mike Yevich (Scranton); Flugelhorn: Jeff Leas (Shavertown); Horns: Justin Ambrozia (New York City/Scranton), Kristen Yarmey (Scranton); Trombones: Malcolm Viney (Pocono Summit), Philip Ioanna (Nanticoke) Bass Trombone: Geoff Speicher (Archbald); Baritone/Euphonium: Wayne Smith (Elmhurst), Ray Stedenfeld (Gouldsboro), Chris Wilski (Pringle); Tuba: Steve Lakawicz (Philadelphia), Ryan Lamoreux (Freeland), James Vasky (Chinchilla); Percussion: Sean Andres (Tunkhannock), Magdalyn Boga (Scranton), Adam Gresko (Madison Township).

For additional information, visit or email

Back to Top