Magis Award Winner - Karen Marx

Congratulations to Karen, our March Meg Cullen-Brown Magis Award winner!
Magis Award Winner - Karen Marx

Dear Members of the University Staff:

 The University Staff Senate Recognition and Excellence Committee has picked the winner of the





How long have you worked at the University?

I have worked at the University since August 2015

What is your title?

Administrative Assistant for the KSOM Academic Advising Center

What do you like best about your job?

Our wonderful students, I really enjoy being able to see every KSOM student every semester for their advising appointment,  if they have a question, just to stop in for candy/pencils (etc.) or just to say hello.  

What do you like to do for fun?

Being outside! Fishing, Quading, Lake Swimming, Boating, playing Roblox with my twins, board/card games


Other “Magis” nominees this month were:

March 2019 

Lisa Cornell

Registrar/Academic Services

Daniele Teneva


Valarie Clark

Printing and Mailing Services

Colleen Heckman


Ann Keeler

Counseling and Human Services

Maria Vital

Leahy Community Health & Family Cntr

Melissa Afshari

Graduate & International Admissions

Mark Fischetti

Information Technology

Michele Posocco

Mail Services

Mary Beth Watson

PCPS Advising

Mevlida Kasumovic


John Williams

Grounds Crew

Adam Szydlowski

KSOM Advising

Kevin Stanford

KSOM Advising

Rose Ferrise

Financial Aid

Bernie Kratz

CPS Advising

Laura Richards

External Affairs

Alicen Morrison

Library/Schemel Forum


Karen will receive a certificate for $50 worth of complimentary food at our fabulous University food service outlets, as well as, a reserved parking space for the month of their selection!  Each monthly winner is also invited to the Senate Recognition luncheon in May to receive a certificate of appreciation.  We congratulate our “winner” and all the other nominees for being recognized as “Magis” employees.


We hope you will join the Staff Senate in recognizing and nominating employees in the future and share our excitement for giving individuals the opportunity to be acknowledged for their outstanding efforts on behalf of our campus community.

The nominations must be submitted by the 29th of the month for the next drawing to pick a winner. 


You can use the link below to obtain a nomination card. 

Click here for the nomination form.

Click here to view past award recipients. 


The card may be completed online and forwarded to Peggy Doolittle at . You may also print it out and send it to Peggy’s office in 401 Louis Brown Hall.  In addition, Nomination Cards will be available to Facilities Operations and University Police personnel through their supervisory chains of command. 



Gina Butler and Peggy Doolittle, Co-Chairs

Staff Senate Recognition and Excellence Committee


Support Catholic, Jesuit education

Be engaged with The University of Scranton

Back to Top