Meg-Cullen Brown Magis Award

    March 29, 2019

    The Staff Senate would like to say, “Kudos” to all staff members who took the time to recognize and share their colleague’s accomplishments, sense of community, and dedication to excellence! This month’s Meg Cullen Brown Magis Award nominations were overflowing, with a record number of 37* nominations!

    The University Staff Senate Recognition and Excellence Committee has picked the winner of the


    Janice Mecadon      

    Economics/Finance Department                                                                                                         

    How long have you worked at the University?

    I am celebrating my 10th year! WooHoo!!

    What is your title?

    Faculty Secretary, Department of Economics and Finance             

    What do you like best about your job?

    Too many reasons to list but most of all I truly love working at The University of Scranton.                                                                                                         

    Other “Magis” nominees and comments this month were:         




    Kathy Mehall


    Janice Mecadon*

    Economic/Finance Department

    Sharon Finnerty


    Adam Szdylowski

    KSOM Advising

    Cathy Staples

    University Ministries

    Tracy McFadden*

    Operations & Information Management

    Thomas Miller

    Printing and Mailing Services

    Valarie Clark

    Printing and Mailing Services

    Cheryl A. Evans

    Financial Aid

    Courtney Burke*

    Financial Aid

    Jill Lear


    Janet Bernich


    John Williams

    Grounds Crew

    Lisa Cornell

    Registrar & Academic Services

    Dina Angeloni


    Michele Posocco

    Mail Services

    Ann Keeler

    Counseling and Human Services

    Daniella Teneva


    Colleen Heckman


    Eileen Notarianni

    Human Resources

    Laura Richards

    External Relations

    Laura Talerico


    Diane Lang

    Management/Marketing KSOM

    Kevin Stanford

    KSOM Advising

    Robert Siock*


    Jim Gaffney

    Director, Facilities/Operations

    Paul Snopek


    Shawn Bestline


    Rose Striefsky

    University Advancement

    Jason Oakey

    Academic and Media Services

    Donna Cochrane-Kalinoski


    Elizabeth Chalk

    Office of Educational Assessment

    Rose Ferrise

    Financial Aid

           *multiple nominations



    Janice will receive a certificate for $50 worth of complimentary food at our fabulous University food service outlets, as well as, a reserved parking space for the month of their selection!  Each monthly winner is also invited to the Senate Recognition luncheon in May to receive a certificate of appreciation.  We congratulate our “winner” and all the other nominees for being recognized as “Magis” employees.

    We hope you will join the Staff Senate in recognizing and nominating employees in the future, and share our excitement for giving individuals the opportunity to be acknowledged for their outstanding efforts on behalf of our campus community.

    The nominations must be submitted by the 29th of the month for the next drawing to pick a winner. 

    You can use this link to obtain a nomination card. 

    Click here to view past recipients! 

    The card may be completed online and forwarded to Peggy Doolittle at . You may also print it out and send it to Peggy’s office in 401 Louis Brown Hall.  In addition, Nomination Cards will be available to Facilities Operations and University Police personnel through their supervisory chains of command. 

    THANK YOU!  

    Gina Butler and Peggy Doolittle, Co-Chairs

    Staff Senate Recognition and Excellence Committee

    Back to Top