2021 Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize Winners Impact Banner

    2021 Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize Winners

    May 18, 2021

    Jeff Gingerich, Ph.D., provost and senior vice-president of Academic Affairs and the Weinberg Memorial Library are excited to announce the winners of the 2021 Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize competition.

     This year’s winning projects in the three prize categories are:

     Undergraduate Foundational Winner: Jonathan R. Wells, for the project, The Surprising Reality of Middle Eastern Tourism, completed in WRTG 107: Composition for Prof. Charles Kratz

    Undergraduate Upper-level Winner: Sophia N. Visaggio, for the project, Interventions for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, completed in OT 250: Scientific Writing and Information Literacy for Dr. Julie Nastasi

    Graduate Winner: Amanda Trumpore, Elizabeth DiGiovine, Kayla Brown, and Emily Harvan, for the project, Effects of Music on HR and BP on Patients in the ICU: A Meta-Analysis, completed in PT 771/772/773: Scientific Inquiry in Physical Therapy for Dr. Renée Hakim

    Currently celebrating its 10th year, the Weinberg Memorial Library inaugurated the prize in 2011 to recognize excellence in research projects that show evidence of significant knowledge of the methods of research and the information gathering process, and use of library resources, tools, and services. In 2017, the prize was named for Professor Emerita Bonnie W. Oldham, who founded the prize at the University in 2011. 

    The Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize was fully endowed in 2019 and consists of a prize of $500 awarded to winning projects in each of the three categories: Undergraduate Foundational (100-level projects), Undergraduate Upper-level (200- to 400-level projects), and Graduate. This year’s winning projects and descriptions of the research process submitted by student winners will be deposited into the University of Scranton Student Scholarship digital collection this summer.

    The following projects were selected by the judges as Honorable Mentions: 

    Undergraduate Foundational Honorable Mention:

    Charles C. Sylvester, for the project, The Age of the Electric Vehicle has Come, completed in WRTG 107: Composition for Prof. Dawn D’Aries Zera 

    Undergraduate Upper-level Honorable Mentions

    Sydney L. Gero, for the project, An Empirical Study on Cybercrime and COVID-19, completed in CJ 386H: Cybercrime and COVID-19 for Dr. Sinchul Back

    Jessica Goldschlager, for the project, El trauma histórico y la comunidad latinx, completed in SPAN 335: Service and the Hispanic Community for Dr. Roxana Curiel

    A special thank you to the judges of this year’s competition: Amye Archer, George Aulisio, Kelly Banyas, Marzia Caporale, Michael Landram, Bonnie Markowski, Bill Miller, Linda Mlodzienski, Ian O'Hara, Sylvia Orner, and Amy Simolo.

    Back to Top