University To Induct Wall of Fame Class of 2024 Feb. 3

Honor the Wall of Fame Class of 2024 with your fellow Royals.
The Wall of Fame Class of 2024.

The University of Scranton Athletic Department will induct six new members into its Wall of Fame on Saturday, Feb. 3.

The Class of 2024 is comprised of Kristen (Best) Higgins '04 (Women's Swimming & Diving), Travis Farrell '13 (Men's Basketball), Jerry Rivers '82 (Wrestling), Samantha Russo '13 (Women's Soccer), Katie Slade '11 (Women's Lacrosse) and Joe Veselovsky '09 (Men's Swimming & Diving).

An induction ceremony will take place between games of a men's and women's basketball doubleheader against Catholic at the John Long Center.

There will also be inductee remarks and a cocktail reception to be held at 5:30 p.m. on campus. Register here to be a part of Scranton history.

The Wall of Fame was founded in 1970 to honor student-athletes, administrators and those in the community who have been instrumental in the overall development of the University's athletics program. This year's class brings the Wall's membership to 286.

Kristen (Best) Higgins – Women's Swimming & Diving, 2000-04

A four-year member of the women's swimming & diving team, Best was a two-time Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) champion in the 1650 freestyle and a member of two 800 free relay winning teams. She posted 11 top-six finishes in MAC championship events during her career and helped lead the Royals to a conference title in 2004.

Best holds the second-fastest time in program history in both the 1,000 and 1650 freestyle as well as the fourth-best time in the 500 free.

Travis Farrell – Men's Basketball, 2009-13

Farrell ranks second in program history in steals (222), fourth in steals per game (2.1) and 11th in three-pointers made with 139. In 2011-12, he earned All-Region and Landmark Conference Defensive Player of the Year accolades as Scranton advanced to the Elite Eight.

A three-time All-Landmark Conference selection, he is the only player in program history to record 1,000 career points, 500 rebounds, 200 assists and 200 steals, and is also one of two players all-time to lead the team in steals during all four years of his career.

Farrell helped lead Scranton to two Landmark Conference titles and an 80-32 overall record for a winning percentage of .714.

Jerry Rivers – Wrestling, 1978-82

Rivers is one of 13 NCAA qualifiers in program history as he accomplished the feat at 162 pounds in 1982. During his time at Scranton, he placed second in the weight class at the 1982 MAC Championships and sixth in 1980.

Holding a career record of 45-11-1, Rivers ranks 10th all-time in program history in winning percentage at .798.

Samantha Russo – Women's Soccer, 2010-13

A three-time USCAA All-Region selection, Russo ranks in the top 20 in program history in assists (23, T-8th), total points (87, T-9th) and goals (32, 11th). She earned All-Landmark First Team honors in all four years of her career along with receiving Rookie of the Year in 2010 and Offensive Player of the Year in 2013.

The Royals captured three consecutive Landmark Conference titles from 2010-2012 and qualified for the NCAA Tournament in all four years of her career. Russo helped guide Scranton to a 53-19-12 record (.702) and an unbeaten 20-0-4 mark in Landmark play.

Russo capped her career by being recognized as The University's 2014 recipient of the annual O'Hara Award, presented to the top male and female student-athlete in the graduating class.

In the classroom, Russo was named to the 2013 CoSIDA District IV All-Academic Team and was a two-time member of the Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll.

Katie Slade – Women's Lacrosse (2008-11)

Slade was a four-time All-Landmark Conference selection during her career and holds the program's career record in caused turnovers at 123. She also ranks fourth in ground balls with 195 and ninth in draw controls with 130.

Her caused turnover and ground ball totals rank fourth and sixth all-time in Landmark Conference history, respectively.

Slade helped guide the Royals to 32 victories and a pair of Landmark playoff appearances during her career. She was also the 2011 co-recipient of The University's Carlesimo Award, presented annually to a male and female senior student-athlete for outstanding athletic and academic success.

Joe Veselovsky – Men's Swimming & Diving (2005-09)

Veselovsky closed his career as one of the most decorated swimmers in Scranton history as he earned 2008 Landmark Conference Male Swimmer of the Year honors after winning the 200 IM, 400 IM and 200 butterfly at the conference championships. He also won the 400 IM at the 2007 MAC Championships.

A 10-time individual medalist at conference championship meets, he was also a member of six top-three relay teams. Veselovsky is also the only four-time conference champion in program history.

He continues to hold the program record in the 400 IM with a time of 4:13.02 that was set on Feb. 10, 2007, which is the longest-standing program record. Veselovsky also holds the second-fastest time in the 200 fly, sixth-best in 200 IM and seventh-best in the 100 fly.

Scranton's second-place finish at the 2009 Landmark Championships was the best finish in program history at the time.

Back to Top