Scranton Brass Orchestra To Perform Sunday, January 8

Jan 4, 2017

The Scranton Brass Orchestra will perform on Sunday, Jan. 8, at 7:30 p.m. in the Houlihan-McLean Center at The University of Scranton. Admission is free, and the performance is open to the public. (Doors open at 6:45 p.m., and seating is on a first-come, first-seated basis.)

The program for the concert includes Joseph Turrin’s “Rhapsody Noel, Canterbury Chorale” by Jan Van der Roost, Gareth Wood’s setting of the Welsh folk song “Sosban Fach,” arrangements for brass of the Finale from Shostakovich’s “Symphony No. 5” and Bernstein’s “Overture to Candide,” and a number of other selections, including arrangements of Andrew Lloyd Weber’s “Any Dream Will Do” and selections from Bernstein’s West Side Story.

The Scranton Brass Orchestra is under the direction of co-founder and director Cheryl Y. Boga and is presented by Performance Music at the University. Now in its sixth season, it is a fully professional 28-member ensemble comprised of brass and percussion players/teachers from the region. The group's performances are free of charge and open to the public, and have often featured nationally and internationally acclaimed guests, including many of the most respected brass players of our time. The group made its debut before hundreds of appreciative audience members in June 2011, and has since garnered acclaim from both audiences and musicians alike.

Scranton Brass Orchestra members for this concert are grouped by the instrument they play in the list that follows: Eb Trumpet/Cornet & Piccolo Trumpet: Christopher Newman, M.D. (Breinigsville); Bb Trumpet/Cornet: Carl Achhammer (Sugar Notch), Laura Bibbs (Hawley), John Carey (Wilkes-Barre), Joe Devizia (Larksville), Ken Luckey (Albrightsville), Sean Mason (Tunkhannock), Morgeanne Piestrak (Hunlock Creek), William Rennekamp (Lake Ariel), Jonathan Searfoss (Mount Cobb), Matthew Wren (Scranton) and Mike Yevich (Scranton); Flugelhorn: Jeff Leas (Shavertown); Horns: Justin Ambrozia (Scranton), Megan Wilski-Schneider (Forty-Fort) and Kristen Yarmey (Scranton); Trombones: Malcolm Viney (Pocono Summit), Phil Ioanna (Wilkes Barre) and Ray Stedenfeld (Gouldsboro); Baritone/Euphonium: Ryan Berry (Archbald), Wayne Smith (Elmhurst) and Chris Wilski (Pringle); Tuba: Steve Lakawicz (Philadelphia), Ryan Lamoreux (Freeland) and James Vasky (Chinchilla); Percussion: Sean Andres (Tunkhannock), Magdalyn Boga (Scranton) and Adam Gresko (Madison Township).

For additional information, visit or email

Back to Top