The University of Scranton Earns Landmark Conference President...

    Dave Martin, director of Athletics, reacts to the news.
    May 27, 2020

    For the first time in the history of its athletics program, The University of Scranton was awarded the 2019-20 Landmark Conference Presidents’ Trophy, conference commissioner Katie Boldvich announced on Tuesday afternoon.

    Despite the spring season being canceled in mid-March due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic, the Landmark Conference still decided to award the Presidents' Trophy for the academic year, as 14 of the 22 conference championships were completed.

    Scranton garnered 127 points in the final standings to edge out Catholic (113 points) to take the Presidents' Trophy for the first time since joining the Landmark as a founding member in 2007-08. Since then, Scranton has finished second in the Presidents' Trophy standings on five different occasions, the last coming after the 2017-18 season.

    "Winning this year's Landmark Conference Presidents' Trophy is an incredible honor," said University of Scranton President Scott R. Pilarz, S.J. "It adds to the rich history of intercollegiate athletics we have at The University of Scranton, and is a true testament to the hard work our student-athletes, coaches, administration, and staff have put into achieving excellence. I am grateful for their dedication to the University during what has been an unprecedented academic year."

    "Winning the Landmark Conference Presidents' Trophy for the first time is special," said Director of Athletics Dave Martin. "I would like to congratulate all of our student-athletes and coaches, and our staff and administration. This truly is a testament to their hard work and their dedication.

    "This year didn't go as planned, per se, and we faced a lot of challenges in the spring. But, I'm so absolutely proud of the way our student-athletes, coaches, and staff have approached everything. It's fitting that our year ends this way."

    The Presidents' Trophy was created in the inaugural year of the conference to recognize the best overall athletics program. The Trophy is awarded based on a formula that rewards institutions for regular season conference standings as well as results in Landmark postseason competition.

    Read the full story and see video from the announcement, here.

    Back to Top